Jones 111

“What happened to you?” Anna asks when she gets back from the bar with Clem and Chelsea who go straight to bed.

“Silas asked me not to date Gabe, suggested I wasn’t good enough, not over Tris. He and Gabe were together a long time.” I say.

“And you felt he was saying he was better than you, when he just meant please don’t hurt me.” Anna says.

“You know me too well. But he meant it both ways. And after I promised Skipper I wouldn’t go there with Benjamin, and that caused issues, I vowed never to promise the same again. And it isn’t like Silas and I are close. We see each other at parties and whatever but we don’t make the effort to see each other outside of that.” I say.

“Right, you are in the same circle but not particularly friends.” Anna says.

“Exactly. And he didn’t introduce me to Gabe, we met independently and he wouldn’t have known if Gabe hadn’t come tonight.” I say.

“Do you feel bad?” Anna asks.

“I feel like I should feel bad. But don’t actually feel bad. My dating history, Tyler, didn’t want a relationship which he meant with me as he and Dallas have certainly not moved at snails pace. Joel, married, Tris worked until it didn’t, Dalton doesn’t want me and now Gabe. I don’t even know if I want to pursue anything but I am sick of not getting the chance to decide for myself.” I say.

“Are you going on the next date to spite Silas?” Anna asks.

“No, I agreed to it before Silas came into the picture.” I say.

“I see both sides. I do. Just be careful, Silas will be gathering your friends to his side.” Anna says.

“And that will show me who my true friends are.” I say.

“Agreed. I’m team Jones.” Anna say.

“Your set was so slick tonight, you were powerful out there. Lucas wasn’t his best, you should have been after him. You and Davis should be a package and take turns to go last. You’re both a good lead in for each other.” I say.

“He said the exact same thing to me earlier. He’s getting annoyed because Lucas’s act is already stale and he’s gone backwards and it isn’t a great lead in for Davis. To toot my own horn, I built the audience way up tonight. I was good and Davis would have really killed straight after. I mean he was great but it would have been stratospheric after me.” Anna says.

“Then make your demands to the next promoter. Get it on camera that Lucas is sinking. Tell him first, and then the promoter, on camera so you don’t look two faced. Although they could fuck you over with editing.” I say.

“Not if I blog about it now, way before the show. I’ve been blogging a few gigs and talking about being a woman in comedy. I am going to anonymize the issue but when the show goes out, if they show it, people will know.” Anna says.

“You’re getting so good at playing the game.” I say.

==

“I’m not going to have a cocktail of that’s okay, as I will be at water polo later.” I say to Gabe as we sit down to brunch on Sunday.

“You’re allowed to have a cocktail or not, whatever you have planned. I am not the alcohol police.” Gabe says.

“Sorry, it feels a little rude to accept a brunch invitation and not drink.” I say.

“Not at all. Bruch is good for food and talking. And I will be coming to the pool later, if that’s okay. I need to step up my hobbies. I stopped going to chorus and gay knitting since the breakup with Silas.” Gabe says.

“Xav comes to water polo. He was the one who introduced us to it.” I say.

“I never knew. I’m trying to work out if I was that much of a self-centered cunt or he hid it.” Gabe says.

“Well you know now and you’re very welcome. My ex goes too, plus Skipper and some of my other friends.” I say.

“How did it go with Silas in the bar?” Gabe asks tentatively.

“Badly. He asked me not to date you for his sake. I refused. He then changed angle and asked me not to for your sake, as I wasn’t good enough for you. I said that was your choice and called Silas a snob.” I say feeling embarrassed.

“You handled it better than I would have. Not good enough? Who the fuck does he think he is?” Gabe asks.

“When I was first out, Skipper asked me not to respond to moves from Benjamin. And I agreed. Benjamin was Skipper’s mentor and I didn’t want to make things awkward. I also didn’t really understand what I was agreeing too. I didn’t get that even in a big city, everyone ends up knowing everyone in gay circles.” I say.

“Exactly. There are not an abundance of men who want relationships around.” Gabe says.

“It worked out, my mom and Benjamin’s mom have become really close, and are living together out in Vegas and managing some properties for me and Benjamin. So it’s better we’re just friends.” I say.

“That is so cool about your moms.” Gabe says.

“Not just those two, Clem and my friend Tyler’s moms, and Tristan’s aunt have all become a group of friends. They say it was like making friends when your kid starts school. They’ve all become close and it is great, it is less worry for us all, less guilt.” I say.

“I get that. You’ve really slotted in to the city so well. Have a big support group. You mentioned Vegas properties and I know about the penthouse. What else is there.? Tell me to fuck off if it’s too soon.” Gabe asks.

“In Silas’s building I own the two penthouses and the floor below which is two two-bedrooms and two one-bedrooms. They are all let to friends, I also own a two bed on the second floor. Then the penthouse I live in with Clem and Skipper. I faked owning it, got my real estate guy to pretend it was a steal of a rent due to the owner being sent overseas last minute for work. I also have 3 two beds up near Columbia which go to students. I want to expand up there but with places I can spruce up. And I have the townhouse which it a joint project.” I say.

“Wow and you’re 22. Holy shit.” Gabe says.

“It’s all investments. Long term, as long as I can cover costs, I’m happy. Longer term I’ll hire maintenance people and get another assistant. Davis and I share one right now. How long have you been in the city?” I ask.

“Ten years now, so I’m ten years older than you. Is that an issue?” Gabe asks.

“No, or not today, who knows in time.” I say.

“And I’m not much good at casual dating. I am a relationship guy. Dating since Silas and I spilt has been an absolute ballache.” Gabe says.

“I’ve been enjoying my freedom but have had some really lonely moments recently. And I want someone to share my day with and wake up with.” I say honestly.

“I hear you.” Gabe says.

“Tell me about knitting club, are you super crafty?” I ask.

==

At the pool I introduce Gabe to Tyler, Dallas, Benjamin and Blaise.

“Hey just to say Silas messaged all of us, and we all told him he’s full of shit.” Benjamin says.

“Gabe, no ill will from us.” Tyler says.

“I appreciate it.” Gabe says.

“Hey Dalton, didn’t expect to see you here.” I say surprised as he steps out from behind a group of bears.

“A friend suggested it and it sounded fun. A way to relax after cleaning the apartment. You don’t mind?” Dalton asks.

“More the merrier. Gabe, this is Dalton, let me take you both to Colby, so you can let him know your ability.” I say totally shocked and unable to stop myself checking him out. I’m pretty sure he does the same to me.

==

“Wow that is Dalton? I understand why you were so upset.” Skipper says as we watch Dalton play.

“He’s nice too. Not that I can do anything now. And Gabe is nice.” I say.

“I am totally going to speak to him about my sister.” Leo says.

“You don’t have to. Davis and Anna did enough. I don’t need anyone fighting for me.” I say.

“No, but he needs to know just how full of shit she is and why Scotty didn’t want here interfering.” Leo says.

“Just make sure he knows it is of your own accord and not my behalf.” I say.

“Oh I will. He’s very cute though and if I were a bit younger, I might try my chances. Your Gabe, he is much more my type.” Leo says.

“We’ve just had two dates. He used to be with Silas, seriously, they lived together.” I say.

“Ahh that is why Xav is throwing you evil looks.” Leo laughs.

“Yup. Silas asked me to back off and I said no. I don’t know. Maybe I should have.” I say.

“Bullshit. He had his chance and blew it. Gabe is clearly a catch.” Skipper says.

==

“That’s his ex?” Gabe asks Skipper as Tristan and Jones play a game on the same team, along with some other great players, against Colby and other veterans of the club.

“Yes that’s Tristan.” Skipper says.

“Why did they break up? They have crazy chemistry and communication out there.” Gabe asks.

“Tristan is a law student and takes it really seriously and couldn’t make enough time in his schedule for Jones.” Benjamin says.

“Wow. If I had that kind of connection with someone, I’d move the earth to make them happy.” Gabe says.

“We were all for the breakup, pushed Jones to it even. And now we have huge guilt. Because since the dust has settled and they’ve become friends again, it seems a huge waste.” Skipper says honestly.

“So am I on a road to nowhere?” Gabe asks.

“No, Jones wants to move on.” Benjamin says.

“You are all always in his business. Fact is Tristan made time for his ex and not for Jones. He fucked up and Jones has standards.” Blaise says pointedly.

==

“I want to apologize for my sister being an interfering heinous bitch.” Leo says to Dalton in the bar.

“You are Aggie’s brother too? You don’t look like Scotty.” Dalton says.

“I don’t, I know. Well we have the same eyes. Neither of us looks much like Aggie. My cousin and older sisters got the hot genes and the three of us are more quirky looking, to be polite.” Leo says.

“Your hair is gorgeous. Did Jones ask you to talk to me?” Dalton asks looking over to Jones sitting with Gabe and his friends.

“No, he asked me not to. Then asked that if I had to say anything, that I explain it didn’t come from him. Which it didn’t. Aggie is troubled but she creates the trouble. I thought that culinary school and her own apartment would calm her down but she’s still trying to create drama.” Leo says.

“Hey cus, Dalton.” Tristan says sitting down with the pair.

“You avoiding your exe’s new chap?” Leo asks.

“I can’t keep up. I meet Dalton and now he’s with the older guy.” Tristan laughs.

“Are you jealous?” Leo asks.

“Yes. I will be for ages. But I want him to be happy. Why didn’t it work with you Dalton? I thought you were well matched.” Tristan asks.

“Aggie unloaded.” Leo says.

“It wasn’t just that. She let slip about some of the properties he owns and it felt like too intimidating.” Dalton says.

“I’m killing myself saying this, but Jones isn’t, not at all. Yes, he has a fortune, fuck you money our grandmother calls it, but he is so down to earth and such a good guy. I’m biased as I love him but if I were you, I’d give it another shot.” Tristan says.

“You might be more of an issue than the money.” Dalton says.

“Jones and I have hooked up a couple of times since the breakup. But I would never cause an issue if he were dating anyone. My ex, who wasn’t even an ex, just a high school hookup caused a lot of issues for me and Jones and I would never, ever put him through anything like that.” Tristan says.

“The twat at the party?” Dalton asks.

“Yes.” Tristan says.

“I don’t think I can compete with Gabe.” Dalton says.

“Give it a go.” Leo says rubbing his hands, he loves a good meddle.

“Hey guys, oh Tris you are making it awkward, do I sit with you, do I sit with my friends.” Davis says sitting down with Alex.

“Hi babe, Alex, this is my cousin Leo and our friend Dalton.” Tristan says.

“Good to meet you, I have heard all about you. Shall we join the others or is this a discarded by Jones meeting?” Alex asks with a laugh.

“Let’s go over. I like freaking Blaise out flirting with Benjamin.” Leo says.

“You are the worst.” Tristan says.

“I’ll get drinks, Xav is talking to Gabe at the bar and I need to listen in.” Davis says.

“You better tell me word for word and I’d love a white wine.” Alex says.

==

“He’s taken it really hard. Can’t you back off?” Xav pleads with Gabe.

“It’s been two dates and an afternoon of water polo. I’ve not even kissed him yet.” Gabe says.

“Then it won’t be hard to walk away. You loved Silas once, surely you don’t want to hurt him.” Xav says.

“I don’t want to. It isn’t like Silas is close to Jones, and all his friends think Silas is being ridiculous. Silas has been dating up a storm, far more than I have. And he posts pictures and gushes online. He wants me to see it, cares not one jot about my feelings. I have been respectful and discrete.” Gabe says.

“Until now. Now you’re stomping all over Silas’s patch, with one of our friends. Coming to water polo was a real statement and you know it.” Xav says.

“Silas doesn’t own any part of the city. We didn’t create no go zones in the breakup and he doesn’t play water polo. You do, and you kept that quiet. I have left chorus which I loved and the knitting group.” Gabe says.

“Ugh, I’ve missed you. I have missed you and your random hobbies. I love Silas and I have to fight his corner but damn, I want you to be happy and I feel such a fraud.” Xav says.

“I’ve missed you too. Will me coming to water polo make thinks hard for you and Silas? I wouldn’t want to mess up your friendship.” Gabe says.

“It might. But I can’t stop you coming and you’re right I should have invited you years ago. I didn’t want my ex coming, I needed something that was just mine. So I told you all I swam and you all left me to it.” Xav says.

“Left you to eyeing up hotties in swimmers.” Gabe says with a laugh.

“Exactly. I never did more than look. I made friends and I had fun.” Xav says.

“I’m not mad at you, Shane could be intense and I totally understand. I’m glad you’re not with him.” Gabe says.

“I wish you were still with Silas.” Xav says.

“It didn’t work. If he gets over this Jones thing, maybe we can all be friends again.” Gabe says and Davis slips back to the table, happy that Jones has great options in Gabe and Dalton.

9 thoughts on “Jones 111

  1. It’s a small world as they say, everyone seems to know everyone in gay New York 😂.
    I would be a terrible gossip with these people, wanting to know everyone’s business and telling everyone who will listen 🤣.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. OMG Sam, I don’t think you have ever written a more perfectly, catty, gossipy, bitchy chapter as this one…this was just SO GREAT, I didn’t want it to end. Ugh how I love these nosey, bitter, drama queens!!!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. I fucking love Blaise. I wish i had friends like Jones. But i feel like if i had friends like them I’d need to tell them to fuck off out of my business every once in a while. they do be in his love life a bit too much

    Liked by 5 people

Give it to me

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.