Oh la LA – Chapter 18 LA

Tuesday Evening – LA

“Hope you don’t mind us tagging along.” Q says as he and Lester join Nash, Hannah, Madison and Eric for dinner.

“You don’t actually get a choice, and you should be grateful as we’ll make you all feel even smarter.” Lester says.

“Always nice to have some clowns for entertainment.” Nash says.

“Nashy! I didn’t know you had it in you.” Madison says laughing.

“I have a gay dad and two gay brothers,  do you think I learned nothing.” Nash says raising an eyebrow.

“Way to stereotype.” Eric grumbles.

“Oh please, our team has been entertaining the world since time began, sure you geeks can be gays too but let’s not re-write history and pretend us flaming types didn’t pave  the way. Because we had to,  we didn’t have closets big enough to hide in.” Lester says.

“Sorry, that’s fair. I’m so used to spouting the lines to be supportive, whilst being in the closet at the same time. Sometimes I wish I had more of that flare. I swear people will be confused and disappointed when they hear I’m gay, because I’m not any of those stereotypical things.” Eric says.

“You are perfect the way you are. Okay, maybe not perfect, these guys say you can be a pain in the ass. But you’re going to be a doctor, that is way more useful than being someone to shop and chat Broadway with.” Q says.

“Thank you. I do like Broadway as it happens. I’m a huge Patti fan.” Eric says.

“Brother, we are going to get along just fine.” Lester says.

“World put to rights? I am always open to shopping, with anyone, gay or straight.” Madison says.

“I’ll go with you sometime. I feel like I really need a purse that says city girl and not country mouse.” Hannah says quietly.

“You dress so well. Nothing about you screams country mouse.” Madison says.

“I feel it next to you. And Tracey too, she has such amazing clothes, I wish I could wear those colors. Before coming here I spend weeks putting together these outfits for school, I have never, ever worried about fashion before, I let my mom dress me. I created what I hoped was the perfect capsule collection and I’ve been happy with it but next to you I know it’s not quite enough.” Hannah says.

“Again, perfect the way you are. You are so gorgeous, and I’m a bi man, I know hotties. You look amazing. You did brilliantly with your choices and they work for you. Tomorrow after school I will take you to my dad’s office and we’ll get you a bag for LA.” Q says.

“For real? Can Madison come too? Not that I don’t trust you, I just love her style.” Hannah says.

“For real. We’ll find you both some pretty things.” Q says.

“Uh, do I get some pretty things?” Lester asks.

“You get me. I am the prettiest thing.” Q grins.

“Ugh. You are impossible.” Lester pouts.

“You’re teaching tomorrow.” Q says.

“Ugh, bring me something nice.” Lester says.

“We’ve had like two dates and he’s already this high maintenance. I am the high maintenance one.” Q says.

“You two are crazy. You’d think you’d been friends for forever, you’re so comfortable together.” Hannah says.

“When you’ve licked someone’s asshole there’s no need for discomfort outside the bedroom.” Lester says making Hannah blush.

“Eric, what’s going on in your love life?” Q asks.

“I’m going with Eli to the beach on the weekend. I guess it’ll be my first date.” Eric says.

“That’s so sweet. Eli is very handsome.” Hannah says.

“Which one is he?” Q asks.

“He’s on the swim team with Ash, he’s only a freshman which might make things weird but 4 years isn’t a lot really and I’m inexperienced.” Eric says.

“I love that for you. All those muscles to lick. I so would have gone for Ash if Preston wasn’t in the picture.” Lester says.

“As if he would have looked at you.” Q says.

“Oh honey, he was looking, he was looking long and hard.” Lester says.

“Well I am glad all you gays are fixed up, but there are slim pickings for us straight girls.” Madison says.

“Yeah, you guys need to find us dates. We need fancy dinners to wear our pretty things to.” Hannah says boldly, surprising herself.

“I wish I could help, I promise I will totally work out who in second year is worth an evening with.” Nash says.

“All we need is for you guys to try.  I’m scared to try the apps here.” Madison says.

“I’m sure you’ll have guys hitting on you everywhere.” Hannah says.

“Creeps and perves usually.” Madison sighs.

“You dated Preston’s brother, is that preppy ivy leaguer your type?” Nash asks.

“I am so over that type.  I am fully into my rebellion stage, anyone who can give my dad a heart attack. No, seriously, a man who can make me laugh, who has some chat that isn’t just sports. But also I do like sports.” Madison says.

“We should go to a lakers game when the season starts, Luis will get us tickets, or Q, maybe you can.” Nash says.

“Do you ever pay for anything?” Eric asks.

“Oh, I kind of forgot we could just buy them. Maybe we should go to a school game. And I hope you’ll all come see Ash swim when the season starts.” Nash says.

“Wouldn’t miss it.” Lester says.

“Same.” Eric says.

“How was your audition?” Nash asks.

“I got a callback.” Q says.

“Why didn’t you say, that’s amazing.” Nash says reaching over to hug Q.

“I did not. I was cut first round. It was humiliating, several of my students made it through and this one who isn’t even a dancer breezes through three rounds and gets a callback his first Hollywood audition he was only there to carry my bag.” Lester says trying to hide his very real frustration.

“I’ll introduce you to Scarlet.” Nash says.

“Hey, I was saving that one for when I need him to perform certain acts.” Q says.

==

Tuesday evening – Preston’s house.

“My mom is going nuts about Madison being here, talking about parents weekend and having her visit us over the holidays. I’m like mom, cool it, she’s friends with Nash not me and busy with med school but she doesn’t hear it.” Felix says laughing.

“I bet she would love to join you for parents weekend, hers won’t be here.” Preston says.

“We ought to have something planned. I know Croyde has ideas for the art stuff but we’re slacking with Bastian gone.” Felix says.

“I’ve so much on, with trying to become a paramedic. You should hit up Joshy and Allan, once they’ve recovered from summer they’ll be up for it.” Preston says.

“Yeah, maybe I’ll go over there. Have you spoken to Anders?” Felix asks.

“We had coffee this morning, while Ash was at practice. I’m kind of relieved he’s in with Malik and Ash, he’s on such a downer after the Q thing. I don’t need that energy around me, but also it’s good he isn’t alone.” Preston says.

“And you’re in a tough spot, you’ve known Anders forever but Ash has known Q all his life so it’s not clear cut taking sides. And worse, Q and Lester are so much fun.”  Felix says.

“I don’t feel like I need to take sides, it’s a breakup, sure Q didn’t behave entirely in the best way but Anders also didn’t listen to all the times Q told him they were breaking up. We’ll all stay friends somehow.” Preston says.

“Isn’t it funny, that we’re here, friends, living together. Who would have thought. I mean I know it’s your place and you just let me live here, but even six months ago I don’t think you’d have agreed to it.” Felix says.

“I’ve been re-evaluating my whole life, my relationships, friendships, snobbery. And I know we’re actual friends. And I need you in my life, you keep it real and us being friends is proof that we can change.” Preston says.

“That is true. It isn’t just you who has changed.” Felix says.

“Have you thought any more about buying somewhere in New York?” Preston  asks.

“I did think about it, about buying somewhere that Perry would rent from me. But I don’t want the  hassle. Especially as I think I’ll go to law school out here and work part time at the agency. I can’t afford a house here but I’m looking at maybe getting an apartment, to rent out. My dad has to keep paying my rent until I graduate and dammit he is going to.” Felix says.

“I’m happy to take it. Kind of.  I’ll take out your share of groceries and utilities and put the rest aside for you.” Preston says.

“You don’t have to, but I appreciate it. And my dad should be paying groceries on top, we’re negotiating.” Felix says.

“Speaking of, Andy is coming out tomorrow. Nash wants to grow more food, and Andy asked if I wanted to also. Which I totally do, I have the fruit trees that were put in this summer but I’ve been thinking the space between us and Bastian’s place would be perfect for growing veggies.” Preston says.

“We can’t cook.” Felix says.

“I’ve learned a few dishes from Blue and Gervais. And we can learn. We should learn more.” Preston says.

“You’re right, we should. I don’t know that I’ll catching the gardening bug the way you have. But you give me a list of chores and I’ll do my share. I can manage weeding and watering under your direction. It might do me good.”  Felix says.

==

“I’m glad you could make it over. How was your reading group?” Nash asks as he snuggles up to Tracey in bed that evening.

“It was amazing. We had 15 people show up. Jodie and I totally didn’t expect that many. We’ve chosen our first two books, agreed who is bringing snacks next time. The reading room on our floor is so cozy with lovely couches and it just about fit everyone without having to use the hard chairs. It’s cool we can book the room, we have booked our weekly slot for the rest of the semester and I think it’s going to work out. Even if we end up gossiping and eating cookies instead of talking about books.” Tracey says.

“I’m glad. You were so brave to try.” Nash says.

“I was terrified it would just be me and Jodie and a big plate of brownies. But people arrived, mostly alone, and some others brought cookies and chips. It was so nice. I feel on top of the world now. How was dinner?” Tracey asks.

“It was great. Not ideal that Q and Lester tagged along as they kind of dominate, but it was good fun. Hannah said she’s intimidated by your dress sense. I think it would be nice if you invited her to book club.” Nash says.

“I thought the same. I can’t help being insecure around her, and even more so Madison. But I also know how tough you had it in college and she is such a fish out of water here. Just like I am in my way.”  Tracey says.

“Q is taking her to get a bag at his dad’s office, from the gift room, you can go along if you want.” Nash says.

“I so want. I’m still getting used to the free stuff, and find it easier to ask for others, but I would like to see one of the gifting rooms, just to see what it’s like even if I’m too scared to take anything.” Tracey says.

“You shouldn’t be scared. It’s just sitting there. If the big name clients wanted it they’d have taken it.  And it’s not like the family don’t do enough for charity as it is.” Nash says.

“I know. I do know. And I get that it’s an awesome perk for working there or for Liam and Aaron. I don’t work there though.” Tracey says.

“But you do now. You’re reading manuscripts.” Nash says.

“That doesn’t feel like work, I love it.” Tracey says.

10 thoughts on “Oh la LA – Chapter 18 LA

  1. I am enjoying all the new characters and our regulars. For me too early to see any new romances but that’s cool by me and part of the fun to see what happens ❤️🎈🙌

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Enjoy your time off and take care of yourself first and foremost. Don’t worry as we are not going anywhere and write the chapters when you are ready and inspired.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m excited to have the energy to write. I just can’t manage it after work in the week at the moment. Are you happy with the new characters? See any new romances on the horizon?

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a three day weekend hopefully I’ll get this week of LA done and the next Paris chapter done. Then another 3 day weekend the end of the month. Then in June I’m on holiday for 2 weeks and hope to write a fair bit.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. no stress or rush. Enjoy your vacationnnnn.

        As the French say, we have the “droit à la déconnection” and this marvelous May is fullllll of vacationnnnn.

        anyways now the kids are all grown up. I remember doing a few sketches when they were teeny tiny fishies!

        Liked by 2 people

  3. This chapter as usual was insightful and delightful! But, I have to say it…I Do Not like Lester at all. Maybe he’s a great guy and it’s just me thinking that way but there is something about him…and I think his talking about licking Q’s asshole was very, very funny but totally inappropriate, only because he hasn’t known any of them long enough to be so blatant…just my opinion. Can’t wait to see where this goes…Q is such a silly little thing, in the best possible way!

    Liked by 2 people

Give it to me

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.