Oh la LA – Chapter 19 – LA

Wednesday Evening – LA – Anders, Ash and Malik’s dorm.

“Can I come?” Anders asks as he hands Felix a coffee.

“Do you promise you won’t kick off with Felix and his new man being there?” Felix asks.

“For sure. I got dumped. I’m over it. Well I’m not over it but I accept it. And it would be nice to see Madison again. It might sound dumb, and I know she’s in med school but I feel like her being here makes my choice to come here legit.” Anders says.

“I totally know what you mean. I thought it when Preston turned up and felt it double when Madison arrived. I feel like her being here gives mom bragging rights too.” Felix says.

“Oh totally, we might be gay but it doesn’t hurt to be seen with Madison, you know everyone will be calling our moms asking them to help their sons get dates. Or offering invitations to Thanksgiving, Skiing, Summer in St Barts.” Anders laughs.

“People are so shallow. I am so embarrassed that I was  one of those people, that that was all I cared about.” Felix says.

“Same. It’s hard to shake off. I’m still struggling.” Anders says.

“Preston is working on it in therapy, separating what he believes from what his parents brainwashed him with, and even then it’s hard to know what was passing on values and what was plain snobbery and what was both.”  Felix says.

“Sounds like I need that therapist. I need a focus.  Everyone seems to have found their way this summer and I have no clue what I want to do.” Anders says.

“I feel so blessed for this summer. That Robin took an interest in me himself,  that he is actively mentoring me and guiding my career. It isn’t what happens to someone like me.” Felix says.

“I had fun driving Luis around but it wouldn’t lead to anything.  I really like the sound of what Croyde and Preston are doing to train to be paramedics, I’d freaking love to be in the fire service, it would kill my mother.” Anders says.

“It legit would. You are smart, you got good grades last year, you got your gen eds done. Why not look to med school? Plastic surgeon to the stars.” Felix grins.

“I’m not that smart and I certainly don’t want to be in school that long. Despite everything I see myself back in New York after school. But not law or wall street, I don’t want to be back in that social set, competing with the same guys.” Anders says.

“Come on, lets go. Maybe you should work with Joshy, you could be a Manhattan Wedding and event planner. You have the contacts.” Felix says.

“Do you know how much I would love to bleach my hair and let my full stereotypical camp gay self out?” Anders asks.

“What is college for, if not experimenting?” Felix asks.

==

Felix and Anders arrive at the same time as Tracey, Hannah, Madison and Eric.

“I could take us all in or we can wait for Q.” Felix says.

“Q said he’s 2 minutes away.” Tracey says.

“Let’s head to reception at least, it’s hot as balls in here.” Eric says.

“Yeah this parking garage gets pretty steamy.”  Anders says.

“I forgot you’d worked here too. Kind of.” Tracey grins.

“I was Luis’s driver, so spent a fair bit of time in the break room here while he had meetings. I’m not ashamed of what I did this summer, just don’t tell my mom.” Anders grins.

“Oh god, I really want to.” Madison laughs.

“Well not until I’ve graduated and got control of my trust fund.” Anders laughs.

“Deal.” Madison says.

“Are you doing okay?” Tracey asks.

“No, but I will be fine. Happy that it happened, that I got to feel all those things and had a summer in love with ` beautiful man. You can’t buy memories like that.” Anders says.

“That’s a beautiful way to think about it.” Hannah says quietly.

“Hannah we’re having book club on Tuesdays in my dorm, I’d love you to come. I didn’t invite you yesterday as I knew you had dinner plans. But next week you should join us, I’ll email you the book list.” Tracey says.

“I’d love that so much.” Hannah says.

“Could I come too? I know I’m older but man I would love to make some girlfriends who loved books.” Madison asks almost shyly.

“Yes, I’d love that. I thought you lived with friends though.” Tracey says.

“Oh it is not working out. We will not stay friends if we have to live together much longer. I have put my name down for housing and am hoping someone drops out soon.” Madison says.

“You and Hannah should get a place together. Or even come and live with me and Preston. I mean I’d have to ask Preston but he has the room. There are bedrooms in the house or the garage apartment which needs renovating but it has air conditioning and running water.” Felix says.

“I might take you up on that if nothing comes up soon.” Madison says.

“Hey. Sorry we’re late, traffic.” Q says bouncing in with Lester, hugging and kissing everyone showily, including Anders, who laughs and kisses Q on the cheek back, causing Lester to give a filthy look.

“Dad, I didn’t know you were in town.” Felix says as Robin almost walks straight past them.

“Just got in from the airport, I was going to call you tomorrow.” Robin says hugging Q tightly.

“Awesome. We’re just going to relieve you of some pretty things in the gift room.” Q says.

“Oh, please all of you take whatever you like, I am sure Q, Felix and Anders have explained the rules. But also if you want any of the celeb perfumes and skin care I am totally lifting the ban on reselling, we are over run with the stuff and you’d be doing us a favor to make space for the good stuff.” Robin says.

“Thanks dad, do you have ten minutes for me now?” Q asks tentatively.

“Of course walk with me. Felix can show your friends where everything is. Tracey, stop by HR and get your ID before you leave.” Robin says and Tracey nods and smiles.

“Sorry, it’s way too soon for meet the parents, I’ll be back soon.” Q whispers to Lester who nods understanding, he doesn’t want to meet the owner of the agency today, in these circumstances.

“What’s up son?” Robin asks.

“I went to an open call with Lester yesterday and I have a callback. I used my cheer headshot card, and I was kind of hoping I could get something better made. And maybe you have someone who could be my rep on it? I don’t think I’ll get the job but it was fun and I want to do more before college starts.” Q says.

“I am so proud of you. Was it for that Fame remake that isn’t a Fame remake?” Robin asks.

“That’s the one. It was a dance call, and well I mean, I can totally pass for 15 or even younger with the right lighting. I’m pretty sure that’s how I got through.” Q says.

“Well you know I’m all okay with this. As long as you keep up the training and get college sorted. No more deferring after January.” Robin says.

“I promise dad. I will.  And I want to, you were so right to push me to spend time with my friends, their good sense has rubbed off on me.” Q grins.

“Good. Bonnie, this is my son Q, he has a call back for that Fame not Fame movie. But he used his cheer card as his headshot and went in unrepresented. Can you get him sorted out. He did the open call for dancers but I think you can get him in the room for a role.” Robin says.

“Sure thing Robin.” Bonnie says.

“I have to run, Q I will call you tomorrow.” Robin says and dashes off.

“Oh god, please I didn’t ask dad to do this. I don’t want an obligation representation.” Q says.

“Honey, do a twirl for me.” Bonnie says.

Q turns around.

“No give me a proper dancers spin and flash me some teeth.” Bonnie says.

Q moves off the rug, pulls off a triple pirouette and lands with a big dance mom’s grin.

“Your dad was right, we can get you in the room. Do you have your cheer card? Let me see what we’re working with.” Bonnie says and Q grabs his headshot out of his bag.

“This is perfect. Send me the raw file. I say we use this, you can do all the flying through the air stuff, and flips, walk on your hands? This stuff that is all listed here, under stunts, the dance and stunt coordinators will know what these all mean?” Bonnie asks studying the back of the card.

“Yes, they’re official names. And I can dance too. Not sure I can act though.” Q says honestly.

“You’re a kid, you’d be playing a kid, how hard could it be? I know they’d prefer you natural than trained for this one. They are doing the mockumentary style. Stay there while I call them. When is the callback?” Bonnie asks.

“Friday.” Q says.

“Larry, honey, how are you doing?” Bonnie says, as Q sits in the chair terrified at how things are moving. Bonnie is editing Q’s card as she makes the call, adding her information.

“You are a naughty man cutting so many of the kids I sent over. Now I have one more, the silly thing went to the open call without telling me. Your sensible people have called him back for Friday, but you really need to see him for Sid or Charlie and not just as a dancer. I am emailing you his card as we speak. Showreel? No, this kid is raw.” Bonnie says.

“I have a cheer highlights reel.” Q whispers.

“Airdrop it to me now.” Bonnie says holding the phone away from her face and Q nods and does quickly.

“I’ve sent you his cheerleading stunts, he’s a real daredevil. He’s 21 but looks 13, I tell you, you need to get this one locked down before he books the national tour he’s in finals for.” Bonnie says, lying smoothly.

“Tomorrow at 10, he’ll be there.” Bonnie says and puts the phone down.

“For real?” Q asks.

“Don’t ask, don’t get. Don’t let me down. Here is my card, I’ve written where you’re going and who you are seeing on the back. Do not let me down.” Bonnie says.

“I won’t. What should I wear?” Q asks.

“You have that cheer outfit? The cute pants and crop top with sparkles?” Bonnie asks.

“Sure.” Q says.

“Wear that, shave twice, thrice. Makeup under your eyes if there is even a hint of a bag, but no make-up on spots if you should be so afflicted tomorrow. Be young and sparky. Pretend you’re in high school musical, you know what that is? I forgot it was probably before you were born. Fuck I feel old.” Bonnie says.

“I know what it is.” Q says.

“If they ask you to sing, sing something from that, or whatever the modern equivalent is. Think young, young, young.” Bonnie says.

“Thank you. I uh, I didn’t plan this.” Q says.

“But you might just get it. Your dad knew about this one because some of his gymnasts are up for it. I’m representing some of them as they try to cross over into film and stunt work. And much as he loves you, your dad wouldn’t do this for you if he thought you’d be shit.” Bonnie says honestly.

“You know, I believe you. And I won’t get it. But it will be an experience. Thank you, for everything.” Q says.

==

Meanwhile in the gifting room.

“This is so much bigger than I expected.” Tracey says looking around in awe.

“I feel so overwhelmed.” Hannah says.

“Come on, let’s find you a beautiful bag.” Madison says.

“I want the pink one.” Tracey says picking up an oversized tote.

“That is so you.” Madison says but before they can reach for it Lester grabs it.

“Sorry, too slow. And I need this one, and this one.” Lester says grabbing two more large totes.

“Gross.” Tracey says.

“There are still lots more.” Hannah says.

“If it’s bags you want, there are these out here, and the drawers beneath, they’re by color rather than designer.” Felix says helping the girls out.

“Oh wow, this is the one for you Hannah.” Madison says picking out a dark grey classic Gucci.

“I could never.” Hannah says.

“Oh, you so should. It fits your classic style perfectly.” Felix says.

“It totally does. Ooo and there is another of the big pink.” Tracey says grinning pulling it out the drawer.

“Amazing, I really need a phone.” Eric says but before he can reach out Lester swipes the entire shelf into his bag.

“Not cool, you don’t need all of them.” Eric huffs.

“Daddy needs to pay the rent.” Lester says.

“No, Eric is right, you don’t need all of them and you know the rules, take what you will use, no reselling.” Anders says.

“Daddy Warbucks said he was relaxing the rules.” Lester says.

“For the shitty Britney perfumes, not electronics. Use your fucking head. And how will it look to Q if you walk out of here loaded down with the whole place?” Anders says.

“Fuck you and well, fuck you. No one is here to police me. I will leave in an uber and he won’t know, because you won’t tell him because you don’t want to come across as a whiney little bitch.” Lester says and opens another bag and clears another shelf.

“I’m getting security. Tell Felix. And don’t worry, I know where the rest of the phones are, I just don’t want Lester to know.” Anders says quietly and leaves.

“Excuse me. One of Q’s friends really isn’t understanding the rules and is acting like it’s a supermarket sweep.” Anders says to a receptionist.

“I’m on it, it’s usually the parents of Disney kids.” The receptionist says with a grin and picks up the phone.

“My mom took fifteen goody bags from the Nick awards. I was embarrassed for a year.” A guy sat in reception says.

“Ouch. I thought it was bad when my mom took a wedding centerpiece and it turned out to be an antique vase and got a letter from a lawyer asking for it to be returned.” Anders says.

“Are you an actor?” The guy asks.

“No, I’m in college. I worked here this summer. Well I was a driver for one of the clients.” Anders says.

“That sounds fun. I hate LA traffic but I think I’d enjoy being a driver. I’m Arlo.” Arlo says.

“Anders. Want to come and see the fallout? The greedy guy is my exes new squeeze so I am hoping it is epic.” Anders says.

“I wish I could. Maybe you could tell me about it over dinner tomorrow? Is dinner too formal? Coffee?” Arlo asks.

“Ice cream?” Ander suggests.

“Perfect.” Arlo says and the pair swap numbers.

“I don’t see why I need to put any back. It’s free, it is unwanted. I need it.” Lester says to Felix who has intervened after Anders stepped out.

“It’s a perk for people who work here, not a free for all for friends of the boss’s son. Q invited you to get a few things not clear the place. You’re embarrassing him and yourself.” Felix says.

“Everything okay Felix?” The security guy asks coming over.

“I was just explaining the rules again to Lester. There had been some confusion as Robin had suggested we take the excess perfume and skin care, Lester just heard resale and thought he meant anything. It’s under control and he’s putting it all back.” Felix says.

“I’ll give you a hand.” The security guy says and grabs one of the totes.

“Thank you.” Felix says  quietly.

“You looked to have it under control. I’ll keep an eye on him.” The security guy says.

“He’s Q’s new boyfriend and so I really don’t want a scene.” Felix says and the security guy nods.

“How gauche.” Madison says observing from the other side of the room.

“Should we tell Q?” Hannah says.

“Maybe. I’ll speak to Nash, it will come best from him.” Tracey says.

“I love my bag, are you sure it’s okay?” Hannah asks.

“It is for sure okay. Let’s go smell the perfumes and I really need body lotion.” Tracey says.

“Me too. It’s so dry here.” Madison says.

“Get the oxblood one, you’ve barely taken your eyes off it.” Felix says handing Madison a handbag.

“I don’t need free stuff.” Madison says.

“Call it a gift from me. It will make you happy and look great.” Felix says.

==

Late that night, Q’s bed.

“Wait, in the ten minutes you left me alone, with your obnoxious friends, you bagged yourself an agent and an audition. With no thought to getting me anything?” Lester asks after Q recounts what happened.

“It wasn’t planned. I just wanted new headshots.” Q says.

“You could have got us both headshots, do you know what they cost. Mine are from 2 years ago.” Lester says.

“I didn’t think, like I said, it wasn’t planned, I saw dad and thought to ask.” Q says.

“I never expected you to nepo quite so hard. I thought you did the open call to see what you could do with your actual talent, if you could call it that.” Lester says.

“I just went to dance, to see how I measure up in LA. You have no idea what it is like to grow up so rural. To only get in person classes at summer camp. To have no idea if you’re good or shit or how to get to the next level as you have no peers or role models to follow. When I was auditioning for cheer squads it was a total shot in the dark. It was hard to fit in to a squad.” Q says.

“Well it feels sneaky. Wait, how did you learn to stunt without an in person squad? You couldn’t learn to fly just in high school, not well enough for a college team and to be on a big team here.” Lester asks.

“Ocean and Spence, they became my bases and we learned together from their gymnastics knowledge and from dad and Gervais who cheered recreationally in college.” Q says.

“So you had private lessons from an Olympic champion and Olympic coach. Fuck my life.” Lester sighs and turns over to sleep.

5 thoughts on “Oh la LA – Chapter 19 – LA

Give it to me

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.