Oh la LA – Chapter 20 – LA

Friday morning – Nash’s house LA

“You two are on east coast time.” Q says yawning and accepting the coffee Spence passes him.

“We are. And we’re very surprised you are awake.” Andy says.

“Andy thought we would get an early start here, Nash said it would be okay if we let ourselves in.” Spence says.

“It’s fine. I have an audition. Lester is still here, can you make sure he leaves. I know that sounds rude but you know what I mean. He’s not a boyfriend yet, I don’t really want him here when I’m not. But it’s too early to wake him and kick him out.” Q says.

“Understood. We will encourage his exit.” Andy grins.

“We’ve done the same for your dad in the past.” Spence laughs.

“Eww. I do not want to know.” Q laughs.

“Pancakes?” Nash asks coming in wiping his eyes.

“You know I can’t say no.” Andy laughs.

“You didn’t have to get up early for us.” Spence says.

“I wanted to. And I am hungry and want pancakes. I did so much cooking the last few days, there are cookies if you need a pre breakfast snack and muffins.” Nash grins.

“I’m shocked my husband didn’t sniff them out.” Spence says laughing.

“I was being polite.” Andy says searching the kitchen for the treats.

“I’ll take a muffin.” Q says.

“Why are you up?” Nash asks.

“I have an audition today at 10, with traffic I figure I need to leave early, and I need to be properly awake by the time I get there. Not sure I can stomach pancakes but a muffin is good, and I’ll take a couple for later.” Q says.

“Amazing. How exciting. Will you be dancing?” Nash asks.

“Uh, I did the dance part and now I am not really sure what happens. I think they just want a good look at me and then they’ll decide if they want me to read for a part.” Q says.

“Wow, that’s big time. Have you told Scarlet?” Andy asks.

“Not yet. I wanted to keep it quiet, so you don’t keep asking me if it’s bad news.” Q says.

“We’ll forget you even told us.” Andy says.

“You will still be going to college.” Spence says.

“That’s the deal with dad, I start in January no matter what. While I’m spilling my secrets, I am auditioning for college dance teams and to transfer in to dance programs. I know I might not be able to get in, but I’m going to try and combine my education with what I love.” Q says.

“Good. I know you loved your time in cheer and you did amazing, and you no doubt will win worlds with your current squad. But I dang well wish you had tried out for dance too back then.” Spence says.

“I didn’t think I’d be good enough, be trained enough, be tall enough. And I wouldn’t swap those two years cheering for anything.” Q says.

“I’m proud of you, for trying, whatever happens.” Nash says.

“So you guys are going to bring a bit of the lake here?” Q asks.

“Nash thinks you need to grow more fruit and veg, Preston and Croyde are on board for helping with maintenance. I know you love your veggies.” Andy says.

“I sure do. How was yesterday? Did the kids love the tour?” Q asks.

“It was pure bliss. They loved the studio tour that Scarlet put on for them and the bus around the stars houses, which was pure cringe for us. Today they are working with the local team and going to a screening together this evening, so we’re free for the day to get the plans refined, spend time with Nash and then tomorrow everything gets delivered and we’ll get the crews working here and at Bastian and Preston’s place.” Andy says.

“Morning. Oooo pancakes, enough for me?” Croyde asks coming in with wet hair after a very early surf.

“For sure, though Andy will say no.” Nash grins.

“I’ll make some more batter.” Andy says checking the supplies.

“Here, have a coffee. Do you have class?” Spence asks, feeling good, he never gets to be the one looking after people and it feels nice to spoil the boys a little.

“Not until 10. The waves had gone though so I came on back. I’ll just go shower.” Croyde says.

“I cannot believe you all function at this time. Okay, I have to get going.” Q says.

“Not yet, sit down, finish your muffin and coffee, then go and get dressed. I’ll drive you and wait with you. You’re far too nervous.” Spence says rubbing Q’s back.

“That sounds good, Nash and I can get everything done without you in the way.” Andy teases.

“What’s all the noise? How are you people awake?” Lester asks coming through.

“Ah great you’re awake too, I can drop you off when I take Q, where do you need to get to?” Spence asks.

“Uh the dance studio on sunset, I’m teaching later this morning.” Lester says surprised.

“Great, we can manage that detour in time.” Spence says.

Nash serves up pancakes for everyone but Q, who retreats to shave again, just in case, not that he has much facial hair on a good day. Lester reluctantly gets dressed and Spence ushers them both out to the car.

“Is Q doing another silent dumping?” Croyde asks.

“He should. Lester is bad news.” Nash says.

“Why?” Andy asks concerned, he thought Lester was pretty harmless.

“Ugh, I haven’t had a chance to speak to Q yet. When they went to get some things from the gift room at Robin’s office, Lester went wild and tried to basically empty the shelves into bags, he swiped stuff the others were about to take and was really pretty obnoxious. Tracey thought it would come best from me, but Lester has been around all the time. And I didn’t want to bring Q down when he had the audition.” Nash says.

“No, he shouldn’t be told until after. It’s been a while since we had a grubby grabber.” Andy says.

“I can understand the temptation when he works so many jobs to make his rent. But it’s hardly the way to go if you want to make it in LA, in the business. Look obnoxious to a bunch of agents and you’ll never get work.” Croyde says.

“What happened? How did Q not know it happened?” Andy asks, happy to hear some gossip.

“Anders had a word with him, and of course that went down like a lead balloon, so Anders went and got security and Felix had a word and between him and security they got Lester to put most of it back without anyone else knowing.” Nash says.

“I can’t believe Anders hasn’t spilled to all. Good for him.” Croyde says.

“He can’t be the one to tell. Q will think its sour grapes. Maybe Felix should do it, Q likes and trusts him and he was there, where I wasn’t.” Nash says.

“Yeah, I’ll speak to Felix later, we have a class together.” Croyde says.

“Thanks Croyde.” Nash says.

==

Saturday morning LA – Dance class

“I am so excited for this.” Ash says bouncing on the spot.

“Are you sure it’s okay to change class?” Q asks.

“For sure, as long as it’s here, then we’re covered with the passes dad paid for.” Ash says.

“I’m happy to spend the time with you. And to be having lunch with Andy and Spence after.” Joshy says.

“It’s so cool they are here.” Ash says.

“Thanks guys.” Q says.

“For what?” Ash asks puzzled.

“For talking my mind off yesterday.” Q says.

“OMG, I am such a dick. I didn’t even ask, how was the audition?” Joshy asks.

“It was so good. I have another on Wednesday, I have scenes and a song to learn. Sides, they called them sides. But don’t tell Lester, I told him I didn’t get any further. He’s kind of salty about me getting an agent without even trying. And I won’t get it so it won’t be a lie for long.” Q says.

“You might. You should. How exciting. Auditioning for a real life movie.” Ash says.

“They’re starting.” Q says looking around, worried it might get back to Lester.

Q isn’t entirely sure why he lied to Lester about the audition but it felt like the right thing to do to preserve their relationship. And so did switching to the earlier dance class, Q doesn’t want to be in a student, teacher dynamic right now.

“Ooo there are cuties here today.” Ash says and the three throw themselves into the class.

==

“I am dead.” Joshy says.

“I am feeling it for sure.” Ash says.

“I loved every minute.” Q says grinning.

“I like Lester, but that was a better class for us.” Ash says.

“For sure. No offence.” Joshy says.

“Totally. Let’s go eat, I am so hungry.” Q says.

“Family dinner.” Ash grins.

==

“Oh wow, this is amazing. I need food.” Q says as they sit down in the restaurant. Where Spence, Andy, Jake, Nash, Tracey, Madison, Hannah, Croyde, Preston, Felix, Malik and Jodie are already seated.

“We ordered for you, for all of us Andy said, let’s get loads and eat family style.” Nash says.

“Sounds good to me, I hope you ordered Andy portions.” Ash says.

“You know me.” Andy says.

“I’m so happy you invited me. I was a little depressed at the thought of my first weekend in the dorm.” Hannah says.

“Same, I needed to get out of the house. And shopping with Liam after will be amazing.” Madison says.

“He will be so excited.” Spence says.

“No Lester?” Felix asks.

“He’s teaching all day.” Q says.

“Good because, this isn’t an intervention but you need to know something.” Felix says.

Everyone turns to look at Q with pity in their eyes.

“Oh god, did you see him kissing someone? We’ve not had the exclusive chat yet, I’m not sure I want that yet.” Q says.

“The other night at the gift room, he was a greedy grabby goblin.” Hannah says, shocking herself with the words.

“What? He took hardly anything. I was surprised, I thought he would have grabbed the perfumes to resell after dad offered. I know he could have used the money.” Q says.

“He grabbed a bunch of big totes and started clearing the shelves. It was crazy. Anders tried to stop him, calmly, but that obviously didn’t work. Felix sorted it out, with security.” Tracey says.

“Anders got security, thankfully, I am not built for such interactions.” Felix says.

“How mortifying. Oh hell, if security file a report dad will know.” Q says.

“It wasn’t your fault.” Felix says.

“It was, I left him alone, if I had been there it wouldn’t have happened. I just wanted new headshots and didn’t think. I was rude to leave him.” Q says.

“But then you wouldn’t know. And surely it’s better to know now. I mean, I grew up with shit all but I would never have done that. Neither would Jose, and you know how he worries about money.” Malik says.

“Right but you don’t have rent to pay right now. You both have scholarships.” Q says.

“Yeah, you’re right. If I had rent to pay I would have taken all the perfume and sold it door to door in the dorms, and on all the selling sites and eyeballed the most expensive things I could, and taken what I felt I could have got away with, without looking like a greedy goblin. I mean, if I wanted to be asked back.” Malik says.

“You think he didn’t. You think he was getting what he wanted and planned to leave me?” Q asks.

“I think he planned to load up an uber and message you that he’d had an emergency and count on us not saying anything. But none of that happened.” Felix says.

“He’s so much fun. He was so much fun until I got the call back and he got cut. It’s been dicey since. I was waiting to see how quickly he got over it.” Q admits.

“Anders will be pleased.” Ash says.

“God he must be gloating about the whole thing. How come he’s not here?” Q asks.

“I’ve not seen him for a couple of days.” Ash says.

“Me either, I think maybe he had a long date.” Malik grins.

“Good for him. I mean it.” Q says.

==

“Are you sure it’s okay to be out here?” Arlo asks as he and Anders kiss on the couch in the dorm suite.

“Yes, my roomies are at a family lunch. What is your issue with being seen with me? Am I that embarrassing?” Anders asks.

“You haven’t looked me up?” Arlo asks.

“No, I don’t like to creep. Well I totally would have once you left. It’s just we’ve been together since we went for ice cream.” Anders laughs.

“My plan to keep my secret. I’m an actor, and I’m pretty famous and I cannot believe you didn’t recognize me and that is super sexy.” Arlo says.

“You are famous? Oh wait.” Anders says holding Arlo’s face in his hands and examining him closely.

“You see it yet?” Arlo says.

“Wait, you’re that guy, the Disney kid now on the big HBO series, all adult. Wait are you not dating that popstar?” Anders asks shocked as all the pieces fall into place, he can’t believe he was so dense.

“Guilty.” Arlo says.

“I don’t get it. I mean we’re in the modern age. Why have a beard?” Anders asks.

“She’s not a beard, per se. It’s an arrangement between our management to get us more exposure. It’s not to hide my sexuality, it was to get my face back out there as an adult. When my agent suggested it, I was so keen to get back to work, in more grown  up roles that I didn’t think it through and it kind of spiraled.” Arlo says.

“But couldn’t you have said, sure I’ll do a stunt relationship, set me up with another hot male? Some boybander who needed to come out?” Anders asks.

“Honestly, I didn’t even think to ask for that. I am so dumb.” Arlo says shaking his head.

“Well you have me now, I’m super smart.” Anders says laughing.

“Kiss me college boy.” Arlo says and they resume making out.

6 thoughts on “Oh la LA – Chapter 20 – LA

  1. I agree, Good for Anders, and Arlo is a very cool name, and Euphoria is so good…much like this chapter! Lester, Ugh…Q is right, his actions were mortifying. I just love that Spence and Andy are out there with the kids, they’re so funny and so sweet, and Spence getting Lester out of the house was classic!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I felt like they’re in LA, they’re hot, they should be mixing with hot young Hollywood stars. Anders being very preppy east coast in style makes him attractive in a less run of the mill way for the area. So why not him first.
      And Lester, oh man he blew it.

      Liked by 2 people

Give it to me

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.