Oh la LA – chapter 3 Nash

Wednesday – LA med school base camp day 3

Wednesday morning starts the same as the day before with the big lectures, over lunch they are sent their assignments for the afternoon.

“Looks like I’ve moved up a spot but not in your group yet.” Madison says as she checks her phone as the group sit together for lunch.

“What do you mean?” Nash asks.

“The afternoon groups, they’re clearly ranked. You are number one and everyone is gunning to get in your group.” Madison says.

“For real?” Jessica asks.

“Yeah, what were your MCAT scores?” Madison asks.

Jessica, Nash, Hannah and Eric give their answer.

“Nash that is unheard of. You’re all at least 20 points ahead of me and I had a good score. You’re the top group for sure.” Madison says.

“It’s base camp, it is just an intro week, it doesn’t mean anything.” Jessica says.

“No, not in terms of grades or anything but everything means something. Every day is an opportunity to show we are someone that they want to work with in the future, whether in hospital or research. It’s continuous assessment, a continuous competition.” Madison says.

“That makes sense. Ugh. I didn’t need more stress.” Hannah sighs.

“I’m working it. Surviving our group means something.” Eric says.

Eric continues to be annoying in the afternoon session, his arrogance shining through, with so many sentences started with “I think you’ll find” and “Actually” it is easy to see why he has trouble making friends. Nash finds it quite the conundrum that Eric is so unlikable in class but was so vulnerable and insecure the night before and very likable. Nash is thinking about how he might be the same, maybe that’s why Jessica didn’t want to form a study group with him.

Last session of the day is again with the tough professor, they really put the group through their paces with quick fire questions and pressing for deeper and more detailed answers, all of them tying themselves in knots with all the whys and redirections. Nash is loving every second. This is the sort of college environment he dreamed of as a boy, the expectation of high knowledge and sharing of ideas. Nash is totally in his element.

Thursday starts the same way with the big group lectures, in the afternoon there is a new class on the schedule just called interviews. It turns out everyone has a one on one interview with one of the professors and they are quizzed on their week so far, their thoughts on their future specialty, if they have ideas already for their third year research project.

Nash happily chats away, talks about the work he was doing on medical devices at Stark and gives several ideas for his research projects and what research he’s already done into each area. The session ends with more quick fire questions about the case studies they’ve worked on all week, mixed with some chemistry and questions on diseases.

Nash gives a thumbs up to Jessica as he comes out and she heads in.

“How was it for you?” Eric asks, those who have been seen start to gather in the canteen where they’ve been asked to wait.

“Great fun. I really enjoyed it. I’ve loved Base camp so far.” Nash says.

“I didn’t have a clue about research projects. I didn’t think I’d have to think about them at all for a year or so.” Eric admits worriedly.

“I applied here because of the research project so that was an easy part for me. I was more worried about the chemistry part, I’ve not taken a formal class in it in forever. Luckily it all started coming back to me.” Nash says.

“I didn’t get asked any of that.” Eric says.

“Maybe because you have it on your transcript. Mine is not so typical.” Nash says.

“But you beat me in the MCAT. Did you spend a lot of time studying for it in your year off?” Eric asks.

“Uh, some.” Nash replies vaguely.

“That was sheer hell. Did you two breeze it?” Madison asks joining them.

“I thought it was fun. Everyone here is so smart.” Nash says.

“Was it really tough for you? I thought with your family background you’d be prepared for everything.” Eric asks.

“A lot of it was much like Sunday dinner with my father on the run up to interviews. So in that way I was prepared. While I can regurgitate the facts on demand, another thing I can thank my father for, I’m not always great at on the spot reasoning and elaboration. It’s a major area for me to work on while I’m here. It’s partly why I wanted to be here, so I didn’t have my every failing fed back to my parents. My brothers are having a really tough time with that.” Madison says.

“That sounds difficult for sure.” Nash says.

“I never fail at anything, it wouldn’t be so bad.” Eric shrugs.

“I think they’re going to ask me to leave.” Hannah says sitting down white as a sheet.

“Why?” Nash asks gently.

“I got about two thirds through and just, I kind of froze. I am sure I was being asked third and fourth year material. And I was trying and trying to come up with answers but I just didn’t know it all.” Hannah says.

“Oh me too for sure.” Nash says.

“I guess different professors have different styles. They know I know the material so must have focused on the case studies and research.” Eric says regaining his confidence.

“For sure. We’ll all have been asked different things. I’m going to ask Ryan and Nick what the outcome of these is, and if they mean anything.” Madison says fishing out her phone and firing off some texts to the guys, and also to her siblings to see if they’ve ever heard about it from friends.

“How was yours?” Hannah asks Jessica as she sits down.

“Really good. I felt like I was being heard as a person and medical professional.” Jessica says.

“You had the same interviewer as Nash, right? Did they ask you a bunch of chemistry stuff?” Eric asks.

“A little but it was more about my work, my past academics and my research plans.” Jessica says.

“My siblings all say this program is too new for them to have any feedback and maybe there are jobs and scholarships on the line. Nothing from Ryan or Nick yet.” Madison says looking up from her phone.

“I guess we just wait. Hey on Sunday me and my brother are hosting a welcome back dinner, you’re all invited.” Nash says.

“Would you be able to take me to target on Saturday? I’ll be moving in to my dorm and need to get some things.” Hannah asks.

“Hey could I get in on that, my studio is bare.” Eric asks.

“Uh, I’ll be helping some of my friends move back into dorms, we can probably coordinate.” Nash says.

“I’m in too, I need some basics for my place. Although I was thinking of shopping after class tomorrow.” Madison says.

“We have a Stark meet and greet after class tomorrow.” Hannah says.

“Yeah. I think it includes dinner.” Eric says.

“Come as my date. If you want to.” Nash says.

“You’re not a Stark scholar.” Eric says.

“Can you even bring dates?” Hannah asks.

“Stark invited me to join in, as I used to work for him.” Nash says not explaining the full connection.

“Oh cool. Sure I’ll come if it won’t be an issue with your actual girlfriend.” Madison says.

“She gets back Saturday, You can all meet her on Sunday. Her parents are moving her back in on Saturday and I don’t want to intrude on their time after she spent way more of the summer with me than expected.” Nash grins.

“Hey, Ryan says they didn’t have this interview round last year and they want to know everything.” Madison says.

“Invite them for Sunday, come by any time to swim and hang out, it’ll be a potluck as my brother who cooks is in Paris.” Nash says.

“We can just bring chips or other store bought stuff?” Eric asks.

“Of course. Or bring pizza toppings, we’ll have the dough and cheese. Don’t sweat the food just come, and if you bring a dish that’s great.” Nash says.

“I might come early and bake some brownies.” Hannah says.

“We would love that.” Nash says.

“They’re coming out.” Jessica says.

“If we call out your name please go to room 1B. Everyone else, you can head home for the day. See you in class tomorrow.” The professor says.

Jessica, Nash, Madison and Hannah are all on the list, along with 2 others. Eric looks murderous that he isn’t.

“Maybe we’re all axed.” Hannah says.

“They’re not going to do that, it’s not a cut program that way.” Madison says.

They head to the room.

“Thanks for staying back. As you all know we have totally revamped the med program here and you are our second cohort going through. We are making adjustments all the time to the program and todays interviews were part of that. You 6 candidates have all shown a deep understanding of the material this week, and have a lot of experience in the field, or a clear strong research plan. We are offering you a challenge of taking a series of tests tomorrow, these are for access to a special program that offers a series of opportunities. We’re not asking you to study, or even giving you any indication of what you should. It really is a follow up on today’s interviews. Any questions?” The professor asks.

“Are any of those opportunities financial? I know some people here already have scholarships.” Jessica asks.

“It is not a scholarship test, those funds have already been allocated. But there may be paid opportunities.” The professor says.

“And it’s voluntary, we don’t have to?” Hannah asks.

“It is voluntary and if you do badly it does not count against you. There is nothing to lose, other than tomorrow’s morning classes, which will all be recorded and available online.” The professor says.

“When and where?” Nash asks, trying to hide his excitement, a surprise test is absolutely right up his street.

“Tomorrow, first thing. And seriously, no studying, no stressing.” The professor says.

==

Of course they all ignore the call to not study and scurry home to do just that.

==

Friday morning Nash wakes up and jumps out of bed. He chooses sweats and a t-shirt wanting to be totally comfortable for a long day of test taking.

Nash picks up Hannah who is spiraling, she has never faced a test so unprepared.

“It’s no pressure. It’s not a final. It’s just a test to see if we can be useful as research assistants or something. Just treat it as fun.” Nash says.

“You are insane Nash.” Hannah says laughing.

The pair take their seats, wave at Madison and Jessica and are soon deep into the tests.

==

“I feel like I kind of want to withdraw from this torture.” Madison says when they break for lunch.

“Same. I feel like we’re being tested on what where we should be in a year or two, not now.” Hannah says.

“I thought it was straight forward enough.” Jessica says.

“Same, it’s been fun so far. The chemistry was rough, it took me a few minutes to remember that I’d studied it a bunch when I was 12, and when I pictured myself reading the material back then it all flooded back. And I was lucky that Evan had passed on a bunch of case studies to me.” Nash says.

“You two are mega brains. I don’t think I stand a chance of getting this.” Madison says.

“I am not used to not being the smartest in the room, it is taking some adjusting to. I expected everyone to be smart, I mean the admittance rate to this program is crazy.” Hannah says.

“Sit down Eric, we’re still friends.” Nash says as he sees Eric hovering.

“How was it?” Eric asks.

“It’s not over yet, it’s been fun.” Nash says.

“I don’t understand why I’m not in with you.” Eric says.

“Do you want platitudes or the truth?” Madison asks.

“Huh?” Eric asks.

“If the tests are part of the process of finding research assistants, you’re not in the running because you are an arrogant prick in class and no one wants to work with you.” Madison says.

“I am not. I can’t help knowing a lot.” Eric says.

“She’s right. You will be fine, and you’ll find your way but right now, people won’t want someone like you around.” Jessica says.

“You’re saying I need to dial it down. That just isn’t me.” Eric says.

“No, I am saying know when to bring that side of you out. You need that attitude, keep it, hone it, but don’t bring it out in class, not right now.” Jessica says.

“Exactly that.” Madison says.

“And you couldn’t have told me before the interviews?” Eric asks.

“You’re competition, why should we?” Jessica asks.

“Ouch.” Eric says.

“And you didn’t ask. We have to buddy together to get through the next four years.” Madison says.

“Ah you’re here. Nash and Jessica you two will continue this afternoon, Hannah, Madison you can return to class.” The professor says and heads off to tell the rest of the group.

“Oh I am so relieved and also insulted.” Hannah laughs.

“I’m just relieved. Do you think we failed abysmally?” Madison asks.

“Maybe I was lucky. I’d rather not be failing anything before classes start for real.” Eric says.

==

Jessica and Nash are the only two who take the last paper, it is three hours long and they finish at four. Both looking up, shaking their cramping hands.

“Go and get yourselves a coffee. There is a meet and great at 5 we’d like you both to stay for.” The professor says.

“The Stark meet? I was invited anyway.” Nash says.

“I need to call my mom, she’s looking after my daughter. Let her know I’ll be late.” Jessica  says.

“Of course. I promise, if these papers are as good as the last, it will be good news.” The professor says.

“What’s your coffee order? My treat, you go make your call.” Nash asks.

“Iced latte with oat milk. Thanks Nash. Extra shot.” Jessica grins.

Nash heads to the coffee counter and orders, grabbing a couple of muffins too and has a look around while waiting for Jessica.

“Thanks so much. My mom is an angel, I will have to get some really nice dinner for her. Not what I can afford right now.” Jessica sighs.

“Maybe some funds will come through, from today.” Nash says.

“I hope so, but knowing Hannah was under consideration made me think there are none. Given she has a scholarship.” Jessica says.

“I couldn’t work it out either. The tests were pretty much the whole year’s material, including ethics. I don’t see how they have anything to do with research positions. Scholarships would have made more sense but Madison, Hannah and I don’t need them.” Nash says.

“So why put us through all this?” Jessica asks.

“I think I might have an idea.” Nash says but before he can reveal the professor approaches.

“Follow me.” The professor says.

The pair are lead through to a boardroom like room where a panel are waiting for them, most of whom Nash doesn’t recognize.

“You two have just passed all of last year’s finals. And we’d like to formally invite you straight onto second year.” One of the panel says.

“You two stood out all week and given your backgrounds it made a lot of sense. After interviews we were fairly unanimous. We invited others to take the tests to create a control group, another accelerated student, another nurse, one with family pedigree and on.” Another explains.

“So Nurse Jessica, Dr Nash, what do you say?” The professor asks.

“Are you sure? I mean my recent studies are not exactly medicine aligned.” Nash says.

“Nash, you have the knowledge of a fourth year, we need to get you in to your clerkships and get your practical experience in line with the theoretical.” The professor says.

“I particularly liked your essay on inclusion, about addicts access to healthcare.” One of the panel says.

“You have never done anything at full speed, it should have been expected.” Another of the panel says.

“And I’ve been out of college for so long. I am not sure about this.” Jessica says.

“You proved yourself. More than proved yourself. You are more than ready to get out there. And you’d be saving on a year’s tuition.” The professor says.

“We’ll be in touch about your clerkships, come in as usual on Monday. Now go, celebrate.” The panel member says.

“You don’t look pleased. It is a big saving.” Nash says.

“Yeah but the clerkships mean I have less time for shifts and I know that long term the saving is good. Short term it makes it harder to make my mortgage payment. I had a plan, for how I was going to cover the four years and working this year was integral to that. It’s why I had studied so far ahead.” Jessica says.

“Come on, let’s celebrate, even being asked is a celebration.” Nash says.

“Yeah, we just bossed first year in a week. Hey, why did they call you a doctor? Are you like some undercover Doogie Howser?” Jessica asks.

“No, I have a PhD, in economics. Not remotely useful for medicine.” Nash laughs.

“You’re freaking 21 Nash. That’s amazing.” Jessica says.

“Well I didn’t get my piece of paper yet. I still have to go and actually do my graduation. Excuse me, I just have to speak to a friend.” Nash says as he spots Stark.

“Stark I have a huge favor to ask.” Nash says.

“Anything for you.” Stark says hugging Nash closely.

“Good. Look my friend Jessica and I were just accelerated into the second year. Which is awesome for us. But she’s a single mom, and making the transition from Nurse to Doctor and with the second year being so practical she won’t have as much time to work nursing shifts to pay her way. While she’s saving a full year of tuition, she’s losing out day to day. I thought I’d come to you first, as we’re here.” Nash says.

“Congratulations and yes of course. You don’t need to ask anyone else. We actually had two students fail out last year so have two spots for second year students available. Introduce me to her. I want to know why she’s doing this the long way and not a conversion at a lesser school. I’m impressed.” Stark says.

“Sure thing. Jessica, come meet my friend Stark.” Nash says.

“Friend? Oh Nash you are such a dark horse.” Jessica says shaking her head.

“I’ll leave you to it. I best go see Madison.” Nash says.

“You schmoozing the big guy? Can I get an intro?” Madison asks.

“Yeah, Stark is an old friend. I’ll introduce you later. Jessica and I are skipping to second year.” Nash says.

“Holy shit.” Madison says.

“For real?” Hannah asks listening in.

“What’s happening?” Eric asks.

“Nash and Jessica are going straight to second year. That’s what the tests were about. Dang I wish I had done a bit better. That would have been a huge fuck you to my family. Actually no, they would have all said it proved this course was not as rigorous as it should be.” Madison says.

“I am so mad, I should have been given the opportunity.” Eric says and storms off to speak to one of the professors.

“Like, I’m flattered to have been included but I never had a chance.” Madison says.

“I’m feeling a little embarrassed. I didn’t measure up.” Hannah says.

“No, you are doing just what you’re expected to do. Exceeding even. I know you’re used to acceleration but this isn’t a race. We need to learn everything to be the best doctors we can be. That’s the goal.” Madison says.

“I guess. I just feel like I failed when I’m not someone who fails.” Hannah says.

“You didn’t fail. You are right where you should be. At a meet and greet to celebrate your scholarship.” Madison says.

“I know. Meeting Nash has been humbling. I never met anyone so much smarter than me. Especially someone who is rich and handsome and fits right in. Usually the smart ones are at least badly dressed.” Hannah says.

“Yeah, Dr Nash has been downplaying a whole lot of stuff.” Jessica says rejoining the group.

“Dr?” Madison asks.

“I have a PhD, it’s no big deal.” Nash shrugs and fortunately is cut off from asking questions as quiet is called for.

“I’d like to welcome all of this year’s scholars, and to announce our newest second year scholarship recipient, Jessica Glower. The results of the remaining scholarship will be announced Monday as planned. I just love seeing all of you, eager and ready to change the world. Congratulations to all of you. Please stay and enjoy the food and drink.” Stark says.

“Congrats Jessica.” Nash says and hugs her.

“How did that happen?  I just spoke to him for like two minutes.” Jessica says shocked.

“Maybe it was always the plan.” Nash says.

“Did you straight up  ask him?” Jessica asks.

“Is it an issue if I did? You deserve it, he clearly agreed. He’s a billionaire. An actual motherfucking billionaire and helping a single mother would be doctor helps  with his guilt a little. And yes I hold sway with him, I am like a nephew to him, he is family to me and I didn’t straight up ask, I told him how amazing you are, and how this opportunity puts you in a tight spot. He chose the route he chose.” Nash grins.

“I love you Nash. You are amazing. I can’t even pretend to be mad at you.” Jessica grins and hugs Nash closely.

“Ah shit. I am going to have to find new megabrains for my study group.” Madison says.

9 thoughts on “Oh la LA – chapter 3 Nash

  1. how do you write such cute chapters! And the group has already split in 2… how fun! How with the gay doctors take this news?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A fascinating group and I do hope they all become medical doctors. I believe Nash is super perceptive to realize that Eric is an awkward nerd like him so I do hope that he and the group help Eric develop a sense of knowing your audience so to speak. I have a soft spot in my heart for Eric and Hannah. I am hoping that Eric fits in with Nick and Ryan and they both along with the LA crew help guide him as he comes out and balances med school and life as a proud and out Gay man. I can also see Hannah become besties with Tracy. I am very interested to see how they all develop. 🥰❤️🙌😎👍.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. These first three chapters of the new book have been so great, and it’s been so exciting to really get to know Dr.Nash with out the rest of the family around. I love how excited he gets over things that create terror to so many others (long horrible tests etc etc). Eric…he’s the new Caleb. Some of your finest work ever Sam!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thanks so much: I’ve had Nash and Jessica in my head for a while and Hannah and Eric. But Madison came to me as I was putting Nash’s outfit on him, thinking how he would be perceived and who would introduce themselves if he was wearing designer clothes and had expensive bags etc. Then I wanted a gay couple because, hello it’s me. And Ryan and Nick appeared. I’ve loved writing these.
      Tonight I’m at a Jason Robert Brown concert and it’s so cool to listen to a different type of writer tell his stories. I’m loving it and getting so much more inspired

      Liked by 4 people

Give it to me

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.